Kadir Has University Hosts “Democracy Debates in Turkey”

08 April 2011 - Friday

On March 1st, 2011, Kadir Has University’s Department of International Relations and the Center for International and European Studies hosted the first in a series of talks to be held for the project “Trends of Thought in Turkey,” which is being conducted under the auspices of the Centre for Economics and Foreign Policy Studies (EDAM).

Members of the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), a London-based think tank, visited Turkey from the 28th of February to the 4th of March for the project, which is a collaborative effort between ECFR and the European Council on Foreign Relations. Kadir Has University hosted a roundtable meeting titled “Democracy Debates in Turkey” to sum up the visit, attended by members of the ECFR as well as Turkish academicians, NGOs, and media representatives.

Participatory Members of the ECFR

  1. Aleksander Smolar, Stefan Batory Foundation
  2. Ana Palacio, Former Foreign Affairs Minister, Kingdom of Spain; Former Senior Vice President and General Counsel, the World Bank
  3. Dimitar Bechev, European Council on Foreign Relations
  4. Francesca Nenci, Unicredit
  5. Gerald Knaus, European Stability Initiative (ESI)
  6. Heather Grabbe, Open Society Institute
  7. Ivan Krastev, Center for Liberal Strategies
  8. Jaakko Iloniemi, Crisis Management Initiative
  9. Mark Leonard, European Council on Foreign Relations
  10. Meglena Kuneva, former European Commissioner for Consumer Protection
  11. Nicu Popescu, European Council on Foreign Relations
  12. Stefan Kornelius, Süddeutsche Zeitung
  13. Teresa Gouveia, Trustee to the Board of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation; former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Portugal
  14. Andre Wilkens, Stiftung Mercator
  15. Anna Ganeva, Center for Liberal Strategies
  16. Bernhard Lorentz, Stiftung Mercator
  17. Fabien Baussart (+Nazanin Afshin-Jam)
  18. Nikoleta Gabrovska, European Council on Foreign Relations
  19. Rana Aydin, Stiftung Mercator
  20. Sasha Havlicek, Institute for Strategic Dialogue
  21. Ahu Yiğit, EDAM
  22. Sinan Ülgen, EDAM
  23. Soli Özel, Kadir Has University
  24. Mehmet Karlı, Galatasaray University